The project

‘The Spectacular Stories of the Fisherman and the Cat’ is a theatre project whose aim is to compare popular tales and theatrical traditions from different countries, focused on two characters : the Fisherman and the Cat.

How do we consider the world abroad ? And those who live over there ?  This is both the starting point and the incentive of our research.

For two years two comedians and a musician will travel through 4 different countries where they will collect tales and study local performing arts such as shadow theatre, puppet shows, masque, etc. Each time a short musical tale inspired by local traditions will be created.

Through the interactions between the characters of the Fisherman and the Cat, our purpose is to find  out what foreign cultures have in common with ours. We assume that imagination has extra-cultural dimensions. This project will be an opportunity to test out this idea.

Le projet

Les histoires spectaculaires du pêcheur et du chat est un projet théâtral dont le but est de croiser histoires populaires et traditions spectaculaires de plusieurs pays autour de 2 personnages : le pêcheur et le chat.

Quel est notre regard sur l’ailleurs? Et sur celui qui l’habite? C’est le point de départ de notre recherche et ce qui va l’animer.

L’idée est la suivante : pendant deux ans deux comédiens et un musicien voyagent dans 4 pays différents. Sur place, ils recueillent des histoires et suivent une formation à une discipline artistique (de type théâtre d’ombre, marionnette, masque…).  A chaque fois, ils en ramènent un court spectacle musical et conté qui s’inspire de la discipline rencontrée.

A travers la mise en relation des personnages du pêcheur et du chat, le but est de trouver un point  de rencontre entre les différentes cultures abordées et la nôtre. Nous partons du principe qu’il existe une dimension extra-culturelle de l’imaginaire. Ce projet sera l’occasion d’expérimenter cette idée.